Middle-Mile Advisory Committee

Governor Gavin Newsom signed historic broadband legislation in July 2021 to help bridge the digital divide and provide reliable and affordable internet access to all Californians. SB 156 (Chapter 112, Statutes of 2021) expands the state’s broadband fiber infrastructure and increases internet connectivity for families and businesses.

To achieve these goals, the legislation called for a California broadband advisory committee. The newly formed Middle-Mile Advisory Committee will monitor the development and construction of the middle-mile. Internet service providers and other eligible entities can connect and deliver service through the new middle-mile network. The goal is to provide equitable access to high-speed broadband service and prioritize inclusion of unserved and underserved populations, anchor institutions (hospitals, universities, government entities and community non-profits), tribal entities, and agricultural regions.


Committee Members

  • Amy Tong, Chair
    Director, California Department of Technology
  • Marybel Batjer, Member
    President, California Public Utilities Commission
  • Gayle Miller, Member
    Chief Deputy Director, Department of Finance
  • Toks Omishakin, Member
    Director, California Department of Transportation
  • Yolanda Richardson, Member
    Secretary, Government Operations Agency
  • Senator Lena Gonzalez, Ex Officio Member
    California State Senate
  • Senator Mike McGuire, Ex Officio Member
    California State Senate
  • Assemblymember Sharon Quirk-Silva, Ex Officio Member
    California State Assembly
  • Assemblymember Jim Wood, Ex Officio Member
    California State Assembly


The Committee plans to meet the third Wednesday of each month for the first 12 months.

October 20, 2021: 1:00 pm-2:30 pm

November 17, 2021: 1:00 pm-2:30 pm

December 15, 2021: 1:00 pm-2:30 pm

Past Meeting Resources

Contact Information and Media Requests

Direct questions and requests to be added to the Committee’s stakeholder list to Middle-Mile Advisory Committee.

Direct media inquiries to newsroom@state.ca.gov.